Thoughts on ‘Soul Music’

‘The library didn’t only contain magical books, the ones which are chained to their shelves and are very dangerous. It also contained perfectly ordinary books, printed on commonplace paper in mundane ink. It would be a mistake to think that they weren’t also dangerous, just because reading them didn’t make fireworks go off in the sky. Reading them sometimes did the more dangerous trick of making fireworks go off in the privacy of the reader’s brain’.

Terry Pratchett, Soul Music

There are all sorts of reasons to read. I love reading books which are comforting and familiar, maybe ones written by authors I’m familiar with, in which I have a good idea of how the story is going to end. Then there are those books that I go back to again and again, like old friends, there to prop me up and provide the best kind of escapism. But the most exciting and invigorating books are those which cause metaphorical fireworks go off in my brain, when I’m introduced to new ideas, and new ways of looking at the world, when I’m surprised by characters or plots and when the stories trigger my own ideas and creativity. Needless to say, Pratchett’s works are some of the best examples of those kinds of stories.

Leave a Reply

