The ultimate comfort food?

Macaroni cheese is one of my favourite meals and has been ever since I was a child. It’s one of the things I learnt how to cook from my family. We used to eat it at my grandfather’s house, with bread and butter to mop up the sauce. I’ve tried numerous recipes over the years, but generally fail to remember which version I like the best. This is the one I developed for myself, which is roughly the right quantity and has just enough cheese. Next time I might try adding a diced and cooked red pepper.

Macaroni Cheese (serves 2-3 people)

200g short pasta

1½ tbsp butter

1½ tbsp flour

300ml milk

200g mature or extra-mature cheddar

  • Cook the pasta according to the instructions on the packet.
  • Melt the butter in a small pan and add the flour. Stir well with a wooden spoon.
  • Switch to a silicone whisk (to avoid scratching the pan with a metal one) and gradually add the milk. Whisk well after each addition, ensuring that the milk is fully absorbed and there are no lumps before adding more milk.
  • Once all the milk is in the pan, allow to cook for approx. 5 mins, stirring constantly until thickened.
  • Gradually add the cheese until melted.
  • Stir into the pasta and serve in warm bowls.
Leave a Reply

